My first four months


In the four months and one week since I’ve started work at SDSU’s Marketing & Communications Department, a number of thoughts have popped into my head – both pertaining to my position and to just being a part of academic life for the first time in a while.

So far, I can honestly say that I’ve been overwhelmed by the SDSU experience.  In a good way.

In a short period of time, I’ve met and worked with faculty members who are both dedicated to their students’ learning and to their craft, eager to show the world what Aztecs are capable of.  I’ve worked with student interns who are hungry to learn more and excel in a field that is frequently changing.  I’ve worked with a local media who seem to be truly interested in all the innovations and discoveries coming out of the laboratories, classrooms and observatories on campus.

As someone who served in the armed forces, there is one aspect of San Diego State I took notice of almost immediately.  Very quickly, I saw a university ardent in its support of veterans and active duty military, something that hits close to home.  Some of the programs and facilities for veterans put in place here on the Mesa are not common anywhere in the U.S., and it makes me proud to be part of SDSU.

I’ve come to realize that it’s a privilege to work at San Diego State, among thousands of enthusiastic students, a faculty passionate about their respective fields, and a devoted administration and staff.  I may not be an Aztec by degree (don’t hold it against me), but I can say I definitely it’s been a great ride so far and I am proud to be — in some small part — part of the SDSU family.

Leave a comment

Filed under College Community, University News

Leave a Reply

