commencement season


About two weeks ago I had a dream that I was back in college and had to take a final exam. I remember feeling surprised (after all, I didn’t go to sleep that night thinking I’d be taking a test), but rather excited to take on the challenge.

For me, that was the official start of commencement season.

When I started this job six months ago I knew how big of a deal commencement was, but I didn’t realize how much work went into it. I accepted the challenge and tackled different aspects of commencement coverage, from interviewing outstanding graduates to writing stories for our commencement package on NewsCenter.

Obviously commencement has been on my mind a lot lately, but it didn’t really hit me until our walkthrough today. We walked into an empty Cox Arena and I was immediately taken aback by the sea of chairs on the floor. While empty today, those seats will be filled with thousands of graduates over the course of the weekend, each one celebrating a huge milestone in their lives.

At that moment I couldn’t help but think back to my own graduation. I’ll never forget the feeling of walking onto the floor of Pauley Pavilion at UCLA, surrounded by other graduates and our families in the bleachers. It was such an incredible experience – not just because Cookie Monster was our keynote speaker (I’m serious), but because I could actually feel the magnitude of that moment. Knowing that close to 10,000 SDSU students will get to experience that same feeling this weekend makes me so happy.

I’ve had an interesting post-college journey thus far, and I’m thrilled to be where I am right now. Although I’m expecting a lot of running around this weekend, I can’t wait to see all of our graduates enjoying and celebrating this amazing moment.

I also can’t wait to get the results back for that final exam I “took”…

Leave a comment

Filed under Alumni, Events

Leave a Reply

