A.S. President Enters the Final Stretch


Tyler Boden is a senior majoring in English and is SDSU’s 2009/10 Associated Students President

As I look back over the past four years of my undergraduate career, and all the experiences I’ve shared with so many friends and colleagues across the University and CSU system, I can’t help but stop and appreciate the plethora of life lessons I’ve been blessed to experience at San Diego State University. Especially in my service this past year as Associated Students President, this campus and the people in it have taught me the valuable lessons of humility, accountability, passion, pride, unity and excellence in all things.

Looking back, I just can’t believe how many wonderful accomplishments we’ve had this year. Everything from budget cut videos, rallies, and debates to unprecedented accomplishments in sustainability, student safety, and campus improvement efforts. With the recent passage of the ModernSpace project and a wide range of other things, this group of AS Council and student organization leaders has come together like I’ve never seen before, to recognize and commit to pragmatic and necessary changes and improvements to student life as we know it, and I can’t be more proud of them for that.

The 2009/10 Associated Students Council

And now, as we approach the end of the year and as I prepare to graduate, there is really only one thing that I’ve been strongly committed to in order to leave the legacy that I think AS needs: a strong, forward thinking long-term master plan for the betterment of student government and student life at SDSU. This ‘AS Master Plan’ will incorporate the fundamental values of Service, Sustainability, Shared Governance, Professional Development, Communication, Advocacy, Diversity and Campus Community. These values categories will allow us to lay out plans of “how we see AS in 5 years,” and will give the administrations of future years a guide to how their predecessors saw the future, as well as an opportunity to make their mark on the direction of their successors. With a warm thank you to everyone that has added to what I call a perfect college experience, here’s to you, and here’s to the future!

Follow on Twitter: @as_sdsu, @tylerboden

Leave a comment

Filed under Alumni, College Community, Prospective Students

Leave a Reply

