My Two Aztec Hats …


When I interviewed for my job at San Diego State I told the group “I bleed red and black.” Still, they had no idea what they were getting themselves into when they hired me.

You see, I’ve been a sports fan all my life. When I got to SDSU I was a sports writer at The Daily Aztec. After I graduated in 1995, I volunteered with the Sports Information Department, working in the press box during football games, just so I could stay close to it. I’ve had season tickets to SDSU men’s basketball for 11 seasons. And tomorrow morning I’m heading to Tucson for SDSU’s first game in the 2011 NCAA Tournament.

My Aztec Fan Hat

The thing is, the primary function of my department – Marketing and Communications for the university – isn’t really about promoting athletics at SDSU. The Athletics department has a team of people to do that. But I just can’t help myself. So we do, on occasion, and particularly through this magical run the basketball team is having, write stories and help promote our sports teams. And sometimes the hat I wear as Director of Media Relations and New Media for the university works its way off my head and is replaced by my other hat, which is that of a fan. And if you talk to those who work with me, they’ll confirm that I take fandom to its literal meaning – fanatic.

Well, this weekend I will be wearing, first and foremost, my fan hat. I’ll check in on this blog a few times to share my experiences at the NCAA tournament in Tucson. If you’re on Twitter, I’ll be Tweeting back and forth, between my official university account, and mostly from my personal, fan account. Feel free to follow along.

But please, if I come off as more fan than professional this week, you’ll have to excuse me. I doubt I’m alone in getting swept up in the most exciting basketball season in our school’s history. If you somehow have not, you should run over to the campus bookstore or Aztec Store in Fashion Valley immediately, and get your own fan hat so you can join us.

Go Aztecs!

1 Comment

Filed under Alumni, Athletics, College Community, Events, New Media, Students

One response to “My Two Aztec Hats …

  1. leahsinger

    Yeah, he did say he bled red and black; I was in that interview. … But you should be a proud Aztec this week! It’s exciting. Heck, I don’t even like sports and I know more about March Madness and our Aztecs than ever before.

Leave a Reply

