In a galaxy far, far away….


So this may come as a shock to you…but I am not an astronomer.  You may have thought so if you talked to me over the past couple of weeks as I tried to explain what our astronomy professors had just discovered. Honestly, the only thing I really knew about astronomy – until now – was what Orions’ belt looked like (I could pick those three stars in a row out of the sky on most nights).  Of course, there’s Google Skymap, which is really fun to use…in the middle nowhere when you can actually see the stars in the sky.

It’s one of the favorite parts of my job: getting an astronomy lesson on Monday and then a lecture on how the brain works on Tuesday.  Remember when you were in college and you had to take one of those GE classes and you were like “when will I ever use this!” – well, welcome to my world everyday!

The story of the discovery went public yesterday and now it’s the reporters’ job to tell the story, thank goodness! But I had to tell it first. And that my friends, is why you should always pay attention in class – even if you think it’s pointless.

P.S. We used Storify to capture what the world was saying about our story when it went out. Check it out!

[View the story “SDSU Discovers Planets That Orbit Two Suns” on Storify]

Leave a comment

Filed under Greater Good, New Media, University News

Leave a Reply

